Revisiting my expectations for the releases of 2015 and 2016

Around this time last year I wrote a post on this blog about what books, movies and television shows that were to be released in 2015 or 2016 I was looking forward to the most. Now that we are getting near the end of the first of the two mentioned years I want to do a quick follow-up on that topic.

First, let us have a look at the list I made back then, these are the six releases I mentioned I my original post:

  1. The Winds of Winter, by George R.R. Martin
  2. True Detective, Season 2
  3. Sherlock, Season 4
  4. Prometheus 2
  5. The Doors of Stone, by Patrick Rothfuss
  6. Game of thrones, season 5

As I write this, two of the items on the list have been released, namely the fifth season of Game of Thrones and the second season of True Detective. I have watched both of these, and I reviewed one of them on this blog. To be honest these weren’t the two items I was most excited about, I’d rather have gotten the books I listed, but to the surprise of almost nobody television keeps schedules in a way that literature doesn’t.

I don’t have anything in particular to say about these two shows right now, I give the season of True Detective a 7/10, if anyone is interested in a quick, quantifiable, judgement. For detailed opinions on Game of Throens see my reviews of the different episodes of season five, I didn’t quite cover all of them but the first four as well as one of the last should be there. These two shows are now kicked off the list I, but I also want to write a few words about a show that definitively should be up there, a show who’s upcoming season would definitively have made rather high up on the list had I but seen it sooner.

The show I’m on about here is Penny Dreadful, the third season of which is scheduled to be released at some point in 2016. I happened to come across Penny Dreadful this summer purely by accident when browsing around on HBO Nordic for something to watch for an hour or so before going to bed, and a couple of episodes later I was hooked.

For those who have never heard off it, Penny Dreadful is a gothic horror story set in London at the end of the 19th century. It follows an American gunslinger and a British…well, witch, I think is the correct work, as they (SPOILERS!!!) interact with various classical characters such as Victor Frankenstein and Dorian Gray. yes, that Frankenstein and that Gray, the ones you think of when hearing the names, the Frankenstein with the monster and Gray with the picture.

This premise may seem off-putting to some, or at least not serious but I assure you, it does the creations of Mary Shelley and Oscar Wilde justice. First of all, in terms of aesthetics it is beautifully shot, though it at times portrays scenes that in themselves are grotesque. Everything from costumes to special effects is crafted in a way so as to give the viewer a certain feeling of, well, something, say something dark and diabolic . It it not just that advanced technology was used to make the show and that it’s an orgy in special effects, what I mean is that in this show these things all work towards a common theme in an almost perfect manner, the show maintains a certain mood consistently throughout each episode. One of the few other shows I can think of that does this is Deadwood. For a quick look at what kind of mood I’m talking about, take a look at the opening credits right here.

When it comes to the four items on the list yet to be released, there is little to say, I’m still waiting. The Winds of Winter will in due time warrant a bunch of posts on it’s own, as will Rothfuss’ book. When it comes to the latter of those there has been certain developments that are worth mentioning in case anyone’s missed them. There is talk about the Kingkiller Chronicles being adapted to television, Rothfuss himself wrote about it on his blog, link here, but I suspect the release date of whatever those plans result is outside the scope of the original premise of my list.

Leave a Reply

