First Post, The Newsroom and Things to Come

Well then, here goes. This is my first post and a teaser of some of the things that will be going down later on this blog. This first post will deal with the entertainment part of the trinity of entertainment, technology and politics that my writing can be broken down into. More precisely this post deals with television shows, of the good kind. I watch a show on television now and then, I don’t do it often but I have a few shows that I really like. One of them is The Newsroom.

So, for anyone who cares, the third and final season of HBO’s The Newsroom will premiere on November 9th. If you haven’t already done so then check out the trailer here, and if you’ve never heard of this show before then definitively check out the trailer for the first season, here, and then go give it a try.

This show is one of television’s little hidden gems. While the media here in Europe has been throwing cartloads of attention at other big American TV dramas like Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad and whatnot, this little devil has for some reason gone completely under the radar. Seriously, I know a lot of people who watch all kinds of other HBO shows but not a single one of then knew what the hell I was on about when I asked if anyone had seen this one.

The Newsroom, like it says on the tin, is a show about a newsroom. More precisely it follows the people running something called “Newsnight with Will McAvoy”, which is basically a news broadcast of the kind where a famous person talks to the camera about what is happening in the world. I know, it doesn’t sound very exciting, kinda like a fake CNN or something, but trust me, this show has something special going for it. The characters are all well done and the show manages to integrate real world events into the story in a smooth way. Sure, it has its bad moments, but when this show is good it’s really good.

The plan, therefore, is for me to write and post a review or recap every week from when the show starts until the bitter end. Opportunities will be provided for any readers I may theoretically acquire to comment on what I have written, and if the number of readers I have exceeds zero I shall do the same for season 5 of Game of Thrones next year, and maybe season 2 of True Detective or something else I happen to stumble upon.

In the meantime I’ll also write about politics and technology every now and then. The US mid-term elections, for example, are looming in the horizon and considering the characters running in some local races this years mid-terms are bound to be fun for everyone. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

